Traffic Ticket Attorney

Uninsured Driving – Know the Risks

December 4, 2012

It is no secret that Florida law requires drivers to carry car insurance.  But what happens if you are not insured?

Earlier this year, South Florida law enforcement officers attempted to crack down on uninsured driving, following reports that nearly 24% of all Florida drivers do not have car insurance coverage.

If you get cited for failure to have insurance, your drivers license may be suspended for up to three years or until you provide proof of insurance and there is also a fine to reinstate your license that can range from $150 to $500.  But that’s not all.  If you get into a car accident and you are uninsured, the potential consequences can be significant.  If you are at fault and the other drivers suffer injury to their person or property, you can be personally responsible for the cost.  There is also a risk that you will lose your driving privileges until the damages are paid.

The best course of action is to make sure that you are insured within the limits required by Florida law – minimum coverage of $10,000 of personal injury protection and $10,000 of property damage liability. If it is too late and you already received a ticket for driving without car insurance, there are some things you can do to mitigate your exposure, including purchasing SR-22 insurance after the accident.  If you have questions about your citation for failing to have proper insurance, call The Ticket Clinic today at 1.800.CITATION.  The lawyers at The Ticket Clinic have defended over 1 million traffic tickets in Florida, California and nationwide.