Traffic Ticket Attorney

Understanding the Types of Reckless Driving Charges in Florida

November 13, 2014

If you are caught for reckless driving in Florida, you might have to face a criminal charge that could result jail time. A thorough understanding of the different types of reckless driving charges is necessary, to evaluate where you stand in hierarchy of traffic laws. At times, the traffic officer might treat you unfairly and give you a wrong traffic ticket and because of your lack of knowledge about traffic rules you might hesitate to defend yourself. To help you fight against the Traffic Tickets in Florida, you can hire an experienced Traffic Ticket Attorney.

Types of Reckless Driving Charges

Driving with “willful or with disregard for the safety of persons or property” is considered as reckless driving under the law. In Florida, reckless driving is a worse violation than careless driving and improper driving, and therefore the fines and punishments are serious, including the possibility of jail time.

Reckless Driving in Florida can be charged as:

  • First Offense Reckless Driving
  • Reckless Driving with a Prior Conviction
  • Reckless Driving Causing Property Damage
  • Reckless Driving Causing Serious Bodily Injury

If someone is found guilty on their first offense he will face at least 90 days of jail time, along with a minimum fine of $25 and a maximum of $500. Severe penalty of six months jail time and a minimum fine of $50 and a maximum of $5,000 is subjected to those who are charged for reckless driving with a Prior Conviction. If a person is injured, the penalty will be higher.

Reckless Driving Causing Property Damage is considered as a first degree misdemeanor and it could result up to 12 months jail time, or a fine up to $1,000. Under Florida’s laws, Reckless Driving Causing Serious Bodily Injury is considered as aThird Degree Felony. The person who is charged with this will have to face any combination of the following penalties, maximum sentence of five (5) years in jail, five years of probation, or fine up to $5,000.

If you are charged with Reckless driving in Florida, you should seek counsel from an experienced traffic ticket lawyer immediately.