Traffic Ticket Attorney

All You Need to Know About Texting and Driving

April 30, 2013

At The Ticket Clinic, we have been closely following Florida’s proposed bills banning texting and driving. Florida is currently one of only five states that does not have some type of law regarding texting and driving.  But it looks like that is about to change.  The Florida Senate unanimously passed SB 52, a bill that would make Florida the 40th state to enact legislation banning texting and driving.  The proposed bill will now travel to the House where it is expected to pass.

This bill would make texting and driving a secondary offense, meaning an officer would have to pull you over for something other than texting, such as speeding or careless driving and then issue an additional ticket for texting while driving.  Some critics complain that the ban does not go far enough because texting while driving alone is not enough to warrant a ticket.  Currently 36 of the 45 U.S. states with texting laws make texting while driving a primary offense.

In Florida, if the law passes, it is on track to go into effect October 1, 2013.  A first time offense would result in a $30 fine, a second, $60.

It is good practice to get in the habit of putting your phone away while driving.  While we all know the downsides of distracted driving, sometimes the temptation is too great if the phone is nearby so before you get on the highway, consider tossing your phone into the glove compartment or the trunk.  Whatever it is can wait until you arrive at your destination.

The Ticket Clinic is one of the few firms in Florida that handles solely traffic-related offenses, including DUI.  We are closely monitoring the texting and driving ban as it makes its way through the legislature. Have a question about a traffic ticket you received?  Call us at 1.800.CITATION.